Newest Hearthstone expansion, ‘The Boomsday Project,’ reveals the return of Dr. Boom



Boom Labs, Mechs, and most importantly Dr. Boom make their return in Hearthstone’s latest expansion: The Boomsday Project.

Hearthstone players who’ve had their fill of venturing in The Witchwood, get ready: Team 5 announced the latest expansion today, a “science”-centric expansion starring none other than everyone’s favorite 7-drop, Dr. Boom and his experimental laboratory in Netherstorm:

New card reveals include Spider Bomb, whose brand-new Magnetic ability can either be played normally, or fuse with a Mech you already have on board to add its Attack, Health, and abilities:

Biology Project, which grants each player 2 mana crystals:

Omega Defender, a 4-drop that becomes “strong enough to take out the mighty Deathwing,” if played with all 10 Mana Crystals, thanks to its Omega capabilities:

Electra Stormsurge, a new Shaman Legendary:

Myra’s Unstable Element, which players are already speculating could be insanely good for Rogue decks:

And an obscured glimpse at a brand new Hearthstone hero card, a la Hagatha the Witch from last expansion. Could that be? Bow before Boom!

The two pre-purchase options (you can buy both) offer some pretty enticing options. Namely, you face Mecha-Jaraxxus! Literally:

Pre-purchase The Boomsday Project to receive a 50 card pack bundle, a random Golden Legendary card from The Boomsday Project, and the Mecha-Jaraxxus card back!

PLUS, you can also pre-purchase the new MEGA BUNDLE, which features an 80 card pack bundle, a random Golden Legendary card from The Boomsday Project, the Mecha-Jaraxxus card back, and a new Warlock Hero: MECHA-JARAXXUS!

The Boomsday Project releases August 7 2018 PST. The card reveal livestream will begin at 10:00 am PST (7pm CEST/6pm BST) on July 23 at twitch.tv/playhearthstone.