Connect with us


WWE has its own category at this year’s ESPY Awards

Who will take home the ESPY for WWE Moment of the Year?

WWE campaigned hard last year to receive its first-ever Emmy Award. They came up short, but their award hunting seems to have paid off in some form: WWE is not only up for an ESPY Award this year, they have an entire category of award. WWE broke the news on its Twitter account this morning.

The category, titled “Best WWE Moment,” has four nominees:

  • Roman Reigns returns to WWE Raw after battling Leukemia
  • Becky Lynch wins both WWE Women’s Championships at WrestleMania 35
  • Kofi Kingston wins first WWE Championship at WrestleMania 35
  • Ronda Rousey wins first Raw Women’s Championship

The ESPY Awards (short for Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly) is ESPN’s own sports award ceremony, started in 1993. This year’s award ceremony will take place July 10th, and will be hosted by Tracy Morgan. WWE Superstar John Cena hosted the ceremony in 2016.

ESPN has had an interesting relationship with WWE over the past few years, as they have decided to cover pro wrestling full time on their website and even bring it up on SportsCenter from time to time. Former SC anchor Jonathan Coachman covered his former company in WWE when he was with ESPN, and now he is back with WWE in a pre-show capacity.

You can vote for your favorite WWE moment of the year, along with every other ESPY category, on ESPN’s website.


In Case You Missed It

Blade Runner 2019 #1 review

Comic Books

‘The Orville’ producer and writer David A. Goodman talks new comic adaptation

Comic Books

‘Little Bird’ comic spotlight with writer Darcy Van Poelgeest

Comic Books

Beastars Vol. 1 Review


Newsletter Signup