Connect with us
Image

Comic Books

Image announces new crime drama, ‘Pulp’

Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips team up to deliver bank robbers, Nazis, and spies.

Image Comics has announced a new crime drama graphic novel from the team of writer Ed Brubaker and artist Sean Phillips. The Eisner Award winning pair have previously working together to create My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies, Bad Weekend, and Criminal.

Image synopsis:

Max Winters, a pulp writer in 1930s New York, finds himself drawn into a story not unlike the tales he churns out at five cents a word—tales of a Wild West outlaw dispensing justice with a six-gun. But will Max be able to do the same, when pursued by bank robbers, Nazi spies, and enemies from his past? Find out in this must-have thriller from one of comics’ most acclaimed creative teams, perfect for fans of The Fade Out and Criminal.

“When Sean and I decided to do something completely new for our next original graphic novel, he planted the idea of a Western in my head… And I found myself drawn to the era where that genre first hit big—the pulp magazines and the Great Depression,” said Brubaker in the press release. “I thought about all these writers telling fictionalized versions of the vanishing days of the Wild West, as their own world was going through one of its darkest hours… And suddenly I realized I had the makings of a really great pulp story, but one set in the real world. A story that I really wanted to tell.”

Phillips added: “I asked Ed to write me a Western and this is as close as he could get. Hopefully I don’t have to draw too many horses. Or hats. Or six-shooters. What was I thinking?’’

Pulp will hit comic store shelves on May 20 and arrive shortly after in bookstores on May 26.

Image

Comments

In Case You Missed It

Warner Bros. Unveils ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ Trailer

Movies

X-Force #3 Review

Comic Books

Green Lantern Blackstars #2 Annotations

Comic Books

X-Men Monday #39 – Creator Spotlight: X-Force’s Benjamin Percy

Comic Books

Connect
Newsletter Signup